People Will Hurt You…

People will hurt you and all that matters is how you react to that hurt.

I want to make something perfectly clear when you hurt me, I get stronger. I don’t assume the fetal position and wait for the storm to pass. I learned long ago that you stand up for yourself and you don’t allow people to treat you poorly.

Yes, I have a weight issue, but that doesn’t mean I left my self esteem, pride and morals at the All-U-Can eat buffet. People have medical, personal or financial issues and some have struggles that we may never begin to understand. They had to adapt and overcome those struggles and maybe just maybe they made it through by eating more than they should have. Maybe they survived a death of a loved one by stuffing their face with carbs, sweets, sugars, sodas or anything else that might be bad for them, but in turn saved them from giving up on themselves or life as they know it.

I don’t point my finger at someone who has PTSD and shame them for having their issues. Their issues may not add twenty, thirty or sixty pounds to their frame, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t fighting every day to be a better person.

In turn, don’t point your finger at me and blame me for being fat. I get it. I see it everyday and I certainly don’t need a reminder.  Someone said this today and I wanted to post it here…

“Step into my shoes and walk the life I’m living – and if you get as far as I am, just maybe you will see how strong I really am.”

Sometimes it helps to know that we’re not alone. You’re not alone and I’m not alone. If someone has an issue with you or shares your issues with other people, use their weakness for your strength!

Shoes2

 

 

2 thoughts on “People Will Hurt You…

  1. Christy Wolfe says:

    Wow!! So powerful! Why do people have to be so mean? You are so right..they don’t know what you have been through, where you have been and the demons you are facing! Good read, Ms Heather! You are a strong, beautiful, amazing woman both inside and out!

  2. Jan Robinson says:

    You are a beautiful, smart, loving, caring, TRUSTWORTHY woman. To still be standing with all the “bumps” on the road in this event we call life, not any person can begin to dish out anything negative about you! It hurts me as well when you are hurt not once, twice, but MANY times by the events done. Take the hurt and grow from it.. If it means big changes in your life. I love you more than the world, and am rooting for your success in this next chapter! Xo

Leave a Reply

