Holiday Embarassment, Are You Guilty?

EmbarrassmentI don’t know if I’m more sensitive as I’ve gotten older or if I just don’t have the ability to ignore certain things anymore. Either way, for some reason it seems like people are eagerly taking advantage of social media outlets like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter etc., to post pictures of all of their gifts they received this holiday season.

I’ve seen several big screen televisions, laptops, jewelry, clothing and much more. So much more that I’ve gotten to the point that I don’t want to see it. I don’t care. I don’t care about your 70inch television or new laptop. Heck, I don’t even care about the enormous ham dinner you made for your family of twenty.

Maybe it’s just me and maybe this is something that I should just embrace. But I can’t.        I can’t do it because as much as I want to share my life with people, I understand that there are people who are on my Facebook, Twitter and Instagram who have been out of work. People who can’t afford one gift, let alone the fifty gifts that people choose to post online.

It’s not just about the gifts either. There are people on my social media pages who are unable to share the love and laughter with family and friends because they are either in another state or are simply no longer on this earth.

That is probably the toughest part…when you’re all alone with your memories and you realize that no matter how many presents are under the tree, they could never bring back the people that you love and miss the most.

Holidays are hard enough for some people, they don’t need a constant reminder every time they log online. Friends don’t let friends become Gift Gloaters!

Leave a Reply

