Be Careful When You “Pay It Forward” At Starbucks

My friends on Facebook had several comments about this story so I thought I would share it here as well.

Back in October Starbucks announced a “pay it forward” campaign during the government shutdown. The coffee chain was offering a free tall brewed coffee to any customer in the U.S. who buys another person a beverage at Starbucks. The offer was a way to help fellow citizens “support and connect with one another, even as we wait for our elected officials to do the same for our country,”  CEO Howard Schultz said in a memo to staff.

StarbucksSo here I was a month and a half later, a few days after Thanksgiving and I was sick with pneumonia. I was tired of drinking tea and water from my Keurig at home and wanted a Peppermint Mocha for my throat. Still in my jammies, I got into the car and made my way down to the  local Starbucks.

I placed my order and pulled around to the window. I heard the cashier say the total for the car behind me was $4.86. I looked at the $5.00 bill in my purse and thought what the heck. Campaign or not, I wanted to pay for the person behind me. He kindly took my $5.00 bill and I grabbed my drink. As I drove away, I couldn’t help but feel good about what I did.

I pulled around to the intersection and waited for the light to turn green. I was sipping on my drink when a car pulled up behind me. A woman got out of the passenger side and ran up to my window screaming. At first I didn’t understand what was happening until I heard her say, “Who the F**K do you think you are flirting with my husband? He doesn’t need some skank whore buying him coffee!” She took a wadded up $5.00 bill and threw it inside my window and walked back to her car cussing and screaming.

If I had my voice and felt better I would have totally said something. Instead I just coughed and laughed and coughed some more. I looked in my rear view mirror and could see her yelling at him and waving her hands all over the place. His eyes met mine and all I could do was smile. He obviously needed a lot more than a free coffee. You’re welcome guy in the Honda Accord. You’re welcome. P.S. Thanks for the 14 cents I made on that deal and the free entertainment!

So the next time you’re wanting to pay it forward, you may want to re-think your exit strategy when leaving the drive thru. 😉

Leave a Reply

