The Best Birthday Gift Ever!

This morning I woke up at 4:30am and I couldn’t help but think of the many birthdays I’ve had in the past. I quietly rolled over and thanked God, the universe and all that surrounds me for the gift of yet another day.

It’s funny, when you’re younger you focus on the “cool” gifts such as Barbie, Cabbage Patch Kids etc., but as you get older, the gifts start to come in different forms. I certainly Curadon’t need a birthday gift on this one day when I receive so many gifts throughout the year. The gift of seeing the smiles on the faces of the kids at Cura Orphanage, or seeing Sam and Emely’s progress as they make their wedding plans. The gift of cheering on my friends who are in the process of adopting a foster child, or celebrating the upcoming birth of my sweet friends babies. The gift of celebrating life that is brought into this world and even though it’s difficult, the gift of sharing the heartache when we lose those closest to us.

Over the past 35 years I have grown a lot. I have made many mistakes, which have turned into blessings. I have found love and I have lost love. I have acquired family and I have lost family. I have taken risks and I have failed several times over. Yet, through it all, I have continued to discover who I am and what fuels my soul.

Each and every one of you fuel my soul with love, laughter and  bless me with birthday gifts not just on this one day, but throughout the entire year. You make my life so much better just by being in it.

With all my love today, tomorrow and for the rest of my life.

Heather

Leave a Reply

