Channeling My Inner George Costanza

GCI called my husband this morning and asked him, “Why do I expect different results from people when obviously nothing will change?” He started to laugh and said, “We’ve had this conversation many times before. You do the same things over and over and expect different results. Why don’t you be a little more like George Costanza and do the opposite of what you would normally do?” I had no idea what he meant so I quickly ran a Seinfeld Google search.

A blog titled, “The Costanza Principle” and “Life Lessons Learned From George Costanza” showed up and explained how your history and self-perception has more influence than you think. (Thanks, like I didn’t learn that lesson already.) They also talk about doing the opposite of what you would normally do. There was an episode of Seinfeld where George realized his life sucked and that it was time to make a change. Jerry says, “If every instinct you’ve had is wrong, then the opposite must be right!” George starts doing the opposite of what he would normally do and his life immediately changes…for the better!

Now let me make it clear, my life certainly doesn’t suck. Quite the opposite actually. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have some areas and relationships that need some fine tuning. (And by fine tuning I mean the use of a bullhorn and a frying pan to communicate.) 😉

So here’s hoping that the Costanza effect will rub off on me (that sounds dirty) and in time I can learn to not try so hard.

One thought on “Channeling My Inner George Costanza

  1. Simple Northern Life says:

    I love this show! I guess it is true you do not have to try so hard to achieve something in life. For instance, my husband was more successful with his swap meet style wagon as I was with my well planned garage when we had are moving sale a few weeks ago! You gotta laugh!!! Great musing.

Leave a Reply

