Life Is An Echo… What Does Yours Say?

Echo3Carrie Fisher once said, “If my life wasn’t funny it would just be true, and that is unacceptable.” I admit that while I may find it humorous and often times easy to make fun of myself whether it be my weight, or the stupid mistakes I have made over the years, I never really considered how it might make other people feel.

While researching this topic I found an interesting article titled, “Using Humor to Help Bolster Your Life”. The article discusses if you find humor in something, can you survive it? The answer is yes, because humor is a perception and perception is almost everything in stress. How you perceive a situation plays a large part in determining whether or not you will be stressed and – this is a very big and – determines the solutions you can see. Seeing things from a more light-hearted point of view flexes your perceptual muscles to facilitate seeing additional options. In this respect, humorous thinking is very similar to creative thinking. Seeing the humor in a challenging situation usually allows you to solve it more creatively. For more from the article and some examples of how humor/laughter can be one of the most coping strategies, click here.

Sometimes we forget how important our words and thoughts really are. I am living proof that positive thinking does in fact work. Sure, I have weight to lose and more times than not I find humor in it, but that doesn’t mean I am not grateful and don’t appreciate all of the blessings that are in my life. Appreciating humor fosters optimism by softening negative thoughts with positive ones. Plus, humor’s positive emotions lead to greater confidence therefore, more creative thinking and problem solving.

So at the end of the day I am building perceptual muscles, gaining confidence and solving problems. Thank goodness this humor stuff is fat free and low in calories, I just may need more! 😉

Echo4

Leave a Reply

