The Travelin’ Twinkie

HeavenlyBodyIf you’ve ever searched for “World War 2 Nose Art” you will see that its a decorative painting on the nose of a military aircraft. Started for practical reasons of identifying friendly units, the practice evolved to evoke memories of home and peacetime life, and as a kind of psychological protection against the stresses of war and the probability of death.

I couldn’t help but think of that psychological protection today as I read a news article about Samoa Air, a small airline that is starting a “pay-by-weight” pricing for international flights. The larger you are, the bigger your price. I have received several e-mails from people asking my opinion and to be very honest, I think it’s great! I think every airline in the United States should do this as well.

Now before you toss your cheeseburger at the screen and curse my name, hear me out. I recently sat next to someone on my flight back from San Diego who was 6’4. He was so uncomfortable and wanted to get out of the seat as soon as the wheels touched the ground. I could understand his discomfort from all of the times I had to shove my over sized body into a tiny seat.  The difference between us — I could do something about the weight. He obviously can’t hit the gym and watch what he eats in order to become shorter.

So, be grateful that you have the option to work out and to eat right while losing weight and saving money. Some people don’t have that luxury. I think Samoa Air is doing us all a favor and paving the way for the future of travel and giving us yet another reason to get healthy and live well.

Let’s just hope they don’t paint their aircraft to show a large woman named “Memphis Bessy” sprawled out across the nose of the plane straddling a Twinkie while chowing down on a sammich as she races through the sky. 😉

Now the bags won’t be the only thing tagged “heavy” in the plane.

HEAVY

Leave a Reply

