The Destruction Of An F-Bomb

ImageI was in a meeting yesterday and someone asked me, “Heather when I say F-Bomb what do you think of?”

Really lady? You obviously have no idea who you’re talking too here.

I looked up in panic — All I could think of was Dave Chappelle, Derek and Clive, Lisa Lampanelli, and Snoop Dogg, not to mention all of the celebrity roasts I’ve watched!

Did I develop some kind of super power where my thoughts were being transmitted to everyone in the room? Was this some sort of trap? How do I answer this? As I started to take a breath she said, “FEAR!”

FEAR? Yeah! That’s the “other” four letter word I was thinking of. NOT! (Do people say “not” after sarcastic statements anymore?) Anyhow, we were talking about fear and how it can destroy people and literally paralyze them. As she was talking I couldn’t help but ask myself what was I afraid of? Why does the thought of losing weight literally terrify me? Is it the thought of failing?

I went back to my desk and I Google searched different ways to face my fear. I found several sites that said, Step 1: Face your fear. (uh… okay) Step 2: Overcome your fear. WTF?? (What The Fear!) You can’t just look at yourself in the mirror and say, “I am afraid of failing.” Then progress on to step 2. Where is the work, people!?

Then I came across this: 33 Powerful Ways of Overcoming Fear Right Now.

“Overcoming fear is a skill that anyone can learn. The problem is that most people cling to their fears, because it’s part of who they are. If you aren’t ready to start overcoming fear, you probably won’t. And there’s nothing wrong in that. Everything happens in its own time. If you’re reading this article though, I’m pretty sure that you’re ready to take another step forward. You searched for this information, or you bumped into it, which isn’t just a coincidence.”

Yes, I searched for the information and I am so glad I did. I am ready to face my fears and I have endured so much pain because of it. I acknowledge it and I’m ready to release it! F.E.A.R (Face, Endure, Acknowledge, Release)

One thought on “The Destruction Of An F-Bomb

Leave a Reply

