If I Eat Oatmeal Will I Look Like This?

When I say I want to look like “Lincoln”, I didn’t mean this…

But if I eat oatmeal for breakfast, will I look like this?

Lincoln Stebbins, trainer at Better Bodies, 3122 N. Campbell Ave., does lat pulldowns.

Name: Lincoln Stebbins,Trainer at Better Bodies

LINCOLN’S’ SAMPLE DIET
Breakfast: a cup of oatmeal

Morning snack: protein shake

Lunch: Chicken breast with broccoli

After-lunch snack: string cheese with a piece of fruit

Dinner: fish, baked yams and a small salad with vinaigrette. If I work out in the evening I will have another protein shake. I also make sure I drink a gallon of water a day.

HER SAMPLE WORKOUT
I work out seven days a week.

> For three days of the week I spend one hour lifting weights. I will usually work one large muscle group along with a small muscle group at a time (for example: chest muscles with triceps).

> When I’m not lifting weights, I do an hour and a half of cardio, usually hiking. I like the stimulation.

Weight when you started bodybuilding: 125 pounds (21 years ago)

Weight when not competing (offseason): 118

Weight during a competition (in season): 106

Health/Fitness accomplishment: Brought my body fat percentage from 20 percent to 13 percent. Taught myself to eat right and stay healthy while increasing my lean muscle mass, allowing me to compete in bodybuilding competitions including the Team USA Amateur Bodybuilding Association’s Junior Masters Short division.

How long did it take you to reach your goal: I competed in my first amateur competition seven years ago. After taking first place, I wanted to do more competitions.

Background: I moved to Tucson from California in 1994 to be with my mother, who was sick, to take care of her. I have four daughters; 8, 14, 17 and 20.

What finally got you motivated to work out and then bodybuild: I wanted my daughters to see their mom do something different. I bartended for years and I wanted to do something more with my life. I have always been interested in fitness and the benefits that being healthy can give me. It started out as a preventive measure because of my mother’s illness, but it soon led me to bodybuild competitively. After I saw that first muscle, I thought it was so cool and wanted to continue.

How did you start? I started by finding time to wake up early and go for a run and eat healthier. I then began to lift weights, but not at the maximum amount I can lift. The goal was to lift 80 percent of my maximum weight to break down the muscle so it can rebuild itself, giving me a more toned look.

When I first started, I could do a 15-pound bicep curl; now I can curl 25 pounds. The most important thing for me was the consistency of my workouts; I even worked out during each of my pregnancies!

Did anyone help you reach your goals? I taught myself the majority of my training. However, I was lucky enough to meet Johnny Peña at APEX Hardbody Nutrition. I asked him tons of questions about bodybuilding and he mentored me, teaching me the poses I needed to compete. I couldn’t have done anything without his help.

Were you intimidated entering this male- dominated field? I was a little intimidated at first. But I finally bit the bullet and went to the free weights in my gym and started lifting. I came to realize that while I can’t get as big as a man, I can work just as hard and I have more passion because I have something to prove.

What was your first competition like? I was panicky and excited. It’s difficult to be on a stage and in the spotlight. I couldn’t wait for it to be over, but the energy was good and I knew everyone else was feeling the same way. I loved it!

Do you take any supplements? I take a daily multi-vitamin, vitamin C and flax seed oil or hemp oil if I didn’t get enough good fats that day. I absolutely DO NOT take any bodybuilding supplements. They’re not healthy and the Amateur Bodybuilding Association drug tests excessively. The only thing I can take for a competition is a diuretic.

How would you encourage other women to start bodybuilding? First, you need the dedication, the discipline and the passion to accomplish this goal. Commitment is the key and any woman should first research the changes that bodybuilding will have to their body because once you gain the muscle, it won’t go away. It’s very important to find a gym with a nurturing atmosphere and if you’re really serious, get a personal trainer who can mentor you and motivate you. While there is some intimidation, it is best to work with it. It can’t hurt you, only make you that much more dedicated.

What is your new goal? A personal goal of mine is to gain 2 to 3 more pounds of lean muscle mass and possibly moving on to compete in professional competitions.

What is the difference between amateur competitions and professional competitions? The only difference is the size of the trophies. The same passion that goes into an amateur competition is the same found in a professional competition.

Any food weakness? Oh, god, yes. I’m normal and when I crave something, I will eat it. I love Flaming Hot Cheetos, cheese, wine and sometimes, fried chicken!

Stebbins in competitive mode.Stebbins in competitive mode.

This entry was posted on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 12:01 am and is filed under Body, Local. Tags for this post: , , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

5 thoughts on “If I Eat Oatmeal Will I Look Like This?

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    You know recently it has been bothering me how much people fixate on weight. I think being healthy is fine but the other stuff is just garbage. I make fun of it almost daily on my blog. Today Kate middleton, but even in that post, I linked something about that supermodel tell us to eat naked in the mirror. I have major grrs about this.

    • Error of My Weighs says:

      I agree! I have worked with Lincoln before and let me tell you, she is absolutely adorable and doesn’t come across like the incredible hulk with breasts. She always motivated me and would kick my ass (literally) when I needed it. However, I do think if your thighs can double as a guard rail on the interstate, you may need to cut back on the lifting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

