5 Ways To Bruise Your Ego (and your thighs) When You’re Overweight

As if being overweight isn’t already a bruise to your ego, I have had the privilege of experiencing some interesting challenges over the years. While I have gained weight and lost weight many times over, it has become even more clear that life changes when you’re overweight. No, I’m not talking about the size of your jeans or your relationship status. I’m talking about the every day common things that a lot of people take for granted.

Over the past few months I have made a note of the things that have bruised my ego (and my thighs) and left me wondering if other people are experiencing these moments as well?

While some people have a “Bucket List” I have a “Lard List”.Here are the 5 situations that have taught me a very valuable lesson:

  1. The seats at a baseball stadium are not made for the overly round. You would be smart to leave your catchers mitt at home and bring along a can of PAM. Sitting in a row that is filled to capacity can make it hard for the kid next to you to eat a weenier. I had no idea that I would have to become a contortionist just to watch a game between the Mariner’s and Red Sox. I can’t wait to go back and sit comfortably without bruises on my thighs from the seats.
  2. It never would have crossed my mind that I would be too large to test drive a car. But I have now checked that off the ol’ “Lard List.” My boyfriend decided to test drive a replica of a 1957 Porsche 356 Speedster. When we stepped into the garage I knew I was in trouble when the passenger seat was smaller than my cankles. If that wasn’t enough topping on the proverbial cake, I was met with the task of hooking the seat belt around my thighs.
  3. As previously discussed in my post “Shopping For Life Vests Is A Fat Persons Nightmare”, a life vest can and will humiliate you. The pressure of squeezing my volume into a float-able corset was not my idea of a good time. I’ve learned a lot about motors and getting a boat “on plane”.
  4. Go Kart racing is something I visited, briefly! However, there was a weight restriction and the fact that if I were to get in a go kart, sparks would shoot out the side and my butt would have road rash from dragging behind the kart.
  5. When I got my scooter I was told that someone who is overweight could potentially bend the metal frame of the scooter. So once you have found the jacket in your size, a helmet that fits appropriately, and receive your license, you may end up as a metal pretzel before you even leave your driveway.

4 thoughts on “5 Ways To Bruise Your Ego (and your thighs) When You’re Overweight

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    I am sure all of that is difficult. I love your blog name πŸ™‚ Listen I used to be overweight and I know how hard it is. It bothers me, almost 10 years later, how different people treat you when you are not what people consider “normal” size. I am not thin now nor am I heavy. Just today on my blog (should be linked on my reply if not ladyornot.com) I talked about loving my elbows. Really God made us beautiful the way we are. We just want to keep healthy. My blog is humor and satire not about weight but I just want to give you a virtual hug. πŸ™‚

  2. Elise (@EliseBMWMOM) says:

    My expedition to Victorias Secret…”We don’t carry YOUR size”. REALLY!!!!
    My expedition to the local swimming pool…”wow! good for you I didn’t think you would have been brave enough to get in a swimsuit. do you really like swimming?” I asked why and the guy casually said, “your weight” like I should have known … SERIOUSLY!!!!
    My expedition on a job site after the first day when I was embarrassed at working all day and made a remark about how I looked when the boss came in. I didn’t feel dressy enough, and no make up and no done up hair…the boss assumed when I said I was embarrassed for her to see me after a hard days work it was about weight… she didn’t say, “oh well you cleaned my 3,000 square foot house and watched my kids don’t worry about your hair and make-up…it was like
    ” Its okay we love you no matter what size you are we don’t judge, I have to look good because I am a sales rep and it is a cut throat business people see me all the time….” — ARE YOU KIDDING!!!! PEOPLE SEE ME TOO!!!
    I can’t even possibly imagine gaining one more pound…I am 205 and a size 16…what would these people say if I gained ten pounds?
    However I started a new job with stairs in it hopefully I can lose weight that way …
    The sad thing is I know how it feels to be thin…I was thin until in my mid twenties I was even under weight ….and I never ever even considered looking at a person differently because of weight. My best friend from childhood was overweight the whole time we were growing up but I didn’t notice…she brought it to my attention when we were teenagers…I would have never thought the above comments let alone vocalized them…were those people thoughtless idiots or just prejudiced??????

Leave a Reply

