Suicide Slumber Party or Just Another Excuse To Give Up?

I woke up this morning and read an article on Good Morning America about two teenage girls who fulfilled a suicide pact because they had been bullied in school for being overweight and for having a specific hair color. Now, before I continue with this post, let me be very clear here… I don’t think bullying is acceptable, and I think kids and adults for that matter can be extremely mean. However, when are we going to stand up and say enough is enough? On both sides of this issue.

When I was in school we were allowed to ride bikes without helmets, walk to school and never worry about a possible shooting in the school cafeteria and yes, I hate to say it, but we would make fun of ourselves and our friends at school. Why? Because that’s what kids/people do…they make fun, they laugh and they are inappropriate.

Now over the past few years the term “bullying” is thrown around and made as an excuse for kids thinking its acceptable to blow up a school, kill themselves or kill others. My question is this… has bullying become yet another scapegoat for dealing with things that happen in life?

If I were to get pulled over by a cop and he gives me a ticket, is it okay to tell the cop or the Judge that he is bullying me because I’m fat? Is it okay for the clerk at the store to be mean to me because she is PMSing that week? NO! It’s not okay. But guess what? IT’S LIFE AND IT HAPPENS! People will be mean and they will write, say and do things that will hurt you. But instead of standing up for ourselves, or getting the help that we need from parents, professionals and officials, we ignore it and continue with this horrible trend of slapping a label on it to make it justifiable.

I am sad and angry that people chose to give up and end their life when they could have helped so many people. “Don’t label…do something!”

For more information please visit these sites:

http://www.stopbullying.gov/

&

http://www.stompoutbullying.org

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life, but define yourself.”Harvey Fierstein.

Leave a Reply

