My Ass Could Double As A Hardwood Floor!

When you’ve been lied to, how do you handle it?

Do you listen to Henry Rollins’ song “Liar” over and over again while grabbing a flame thrower and going bat-shit crazy on the person? Or do you get quiet and just reflect on the issues at hand?

Well, I’ve allowed someone to remain in my life after they have lied to me on a few occasions. This last time, I’m walking away. It’s so hard because my gut is telling me to do one thing, my heart is fighting my gut and my brain seems to be in Hawaii sipping Mai Thai’s on the beach with a smokin’ hot guy. (Hey, it’s my brain, it can do whatever it wants!)

Have you ever reached the point in your life when you’ve been lied too so many times that it doesn’t surprise you anymore? I used to have walls up to try and protect myself from the hurt of being hurt. But I’ve been told that building walls can harden someone. So I slowly would let those walls down and allow that little bit of trust to seep in, just in time to have the rug yanked out from under me again. Let’s face it, I’ve been on the ground so much, my ass could double as a hardwood floor. Okay, now that I think about it, my ass being hard, flat and brown sounds kind of gross! 😉

I’ve gone through the major steps of being angry, sad, depressed, frustrated and now I’m at that point where I just don’t care. I Google searched “Laws of Attraction and Liars”. Sounds kind of lame I know, but I found a forum where someone said the following: “Instead of focusing on the lies, notice and be grateful for the times when they are honest and straightforward.”

I thought about that for awhile (as I put my flame thrower back in its case–kidding) 😉 and it all boils down to this… when someone is lying and I find out, I have to use that moment to better myself and try to not be angry, sad, depressed etc. I guess it’s one way of taking their lack of self respect for themselves and just confirming how much I respect myself.

Leave a Reply

