Relationship Reform

Unless you live under a rock, chances are pretty good that you have heard about Health Care Reform, Immigration Reform, Education Reform and Financial Reform. Well, who says we can’t have “Relationship Reform?” When I look up the word “Reform” it says:

  1. A change for the better; an improvement.
  2. Correction of evils, abuses, or errors.
  3. Action to improve social or economic conditions without radical or revolutionary change.

Wouldn’t it be great if we could all just take a moment and have a relationship reform with ourselves and the people we share our lives with? There have been people in my life who were very negative and often times down right mean, and I would constantly find myself walking on eggshells around them. (Note: Being fat and walking on eggshells, doesn’t last long at all!) Yet, I’ve been told over and over again to keep trying to have a relationship with them because they are “family”. Family, Shmamily!

Just because you’re blood related doesn’t mean you’re family. Or more specifically, MY family. I have learned to surround myself with people who love me unconditionally and WANT to be around me. Those people are positive influences in my life. I learned early on in screenwriting that a scene in a screenplay will always serve one of two functions: either it moves the story forward, or it reveals information about the character. In this case, my life is the story and the people in my life move me forward.

I have found it very challenging to let go of the negative people who didn’t move me forward. But once they’re not around, it’s an eye opener as to how much crap I was settling for just because they were “family”.

* Emotional Trigger: Anxiety, Disappointment, Fear, Anger, Happiness, Frustration
* Lesson Learned: Just because you have the same blood doesn’t mean you have the same outlook on life and how to treat people.
* How to grow from it: Surround yourself with people who move YOUR life forward. People who love you unconditionally and help you become the best person you can be. Stay away from “emotional vampires” or people who constantly bring you down. You deserve the best!

One thought on “Relationship Reform

  1. Alene Schwartz says:

    Heather,
    I believe in you! You’ve got the fire in your belly, the belief in your self & the positive outlook to bring you forward. Great workout & on set! What a champ you are! Can’t wait till the next segment.
    I’m very proud that you’re seeing your way through to a new belief system and letting the past be just what it is. THE PAST. It’s more fun in the NOW.
    See you at the gym,
    Love & Light,
    Alene Schwartz

Leave a Reply

